## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 26, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy,

As our constituents struggle with the fallout of COVID-19 and the resulting economic turmoil, we appreciate your bipartisan efforts to stem the pain and provide a path forward to recovery for businesses and individuals in our districts.

We ask you to assist those working in construction, engineering, manufacturing, and small business—the engines of our economy. This includes the energy-related private-sector companies developing and constructing projects eligible for incentives provided by sections 48 and 25D of the Internal Revenue Code. Both code sections include "phase downs" of their respective energy investment incentives. We are concerned that if these phase downs are not extended or pushed out, these companies will face disastrous financial impacts that could be avoided.

These companies and workers play an integral role in U.S. energy independence and diversification; they now face unprecedented uncertainty. COVID-19 is devastating many of these businesses, with thousands of cancelled sales. Even worse, this crisis threatens the pipeline of new projects. Layoffs and furloughs are already underway and thousands more jobs are in jeopardy.

It often takes years for these businesses to build up a customer base, hire and train employees, and create a sales pipeline that can sustain a private enterprise. All that is now being undermined in the blink of an eye.

To help these companies and workers weather the crisis, and utilize the tax-incentive tools Congress created, we urge you to provide relief by delaying and pushing out the phase downs of the incentives in sections 48 and 25D of the Internal Revenue Code, and consider ways to address financing implications to energy companies more generally. This would allow these companies the ability to rebuild lost sales pipelines, retain workers, and carry forward with what can once again be a thriving American industry.

We appreciate your support and are pleased to work together.

Thank you for your consideration,

al Cik

Paul Cook Member of Congress

/ Keller

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Rodney Davis / Member of Congress

un Cent

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Denver Riggleman Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

1 homes K. Sus

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

alley forthe kneede

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

: Awell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

M.C.

Jeff Van Drew Member of Congress

AAA

Frank Lucas Member of Congress

hlí. M'aul

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Baind MID

James R. Baird Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

Peter T. King Member of Congress

M.C.

Will Hurd Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

ender & Han

Kendra S. Horn Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

usre le

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Susan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

aulstonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

John Rutherford Member of Congress

auhl 1

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin Member of Congress

R Jimmons

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Michael Waltz Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

her Bustos

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

hone S. Amores

Mark E. Amodei Member of Congress

trancis omev

Francis Rooney Member of Congress

A. Donald M'Eachin

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress