Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 23, 2020

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Trump,

Thank you for your announcement of the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP). For many family agricultural operations, this support will mean they are able to stay in business and pass farms and ranches on to the next generation of producers in spite of these challenging times.

However, we are concerned about the \$125,000 per commodity and \$250,000 per individual or entity payment limits as it relates to assistance for the livestock, dairy and specialty crop sectors. This limitation would severely restrict the program's effectiveness for many family-owned farms and ranches across the nation. We strongly urge you to eliminate payment limits for livestock, dairy and specialty crop producers before the final CFAP program details are announced.

The COVID-19 crisis has caused unprecedented damage to the livestock, dairy and specialty crop industries. Agricultural economists have estimated over \$13 billion in harm to the cattle industry and \$5 billion to the pork industry due to the pandemic, with many billions more in injury to dairies, fruit, nut, and vegetable producers, and the horticulture and floriculture industry. As is true for many other small businesses across the country, this financial harm comes through no fault of these farmers and ranchers, nor is it the result of typical market forces. As such, these relief payments should aim to indemnify as much loss as possible without restrictive payment limitations.

While some farmers and ranchers produce multiple commodities, and therefore will be eligible for up to the \$250,000 total payment limit per individual or entity, many cattle, pork and dairy operations are solely invested in livestock. This common business practice within the cattle, pork and dairy industries of being invested in a single commodity means this payment limit structure will be even more severe for these producers compared to other commodities. Fruit and vegetable producers by comparison can have very high costs of production—strawberry producers can invest \$30,000 an acre for example—and thus payment limits of this level are too restrictive to meaningfully address the losses many producers are facing.

It is critical for USDA to provide a level of support that is responsive to the disaster situation producers are currently facing. As you know, Congress approved \$14 billion in the CARES Act to partially replenish the Commodity Credit Corporation and we believe that a significant portion of these dollars should be used to ensure that needs are met, even if the payments must be paid in tranches.

We appreciate the support you and Secretary Perdue have provided farmers and ranchers, and we look forward to working with you make certain agricultural producers receive the level of assistance necessary in response to COVID-19.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Henry Gellan

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

M.C.

Mike Simpson Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Tred Un

Fred Upton Member of Congress

KW. Maull

Roger Marshall, M.D. Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart Member of Congress

Elise Stefanik Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M. Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

TJ Cox Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Val B. Demings Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress Ron Estes Member of Congress

Will Hurd Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Mac Thornberry Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Scott Tipton Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Liz Cheney Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver Member of Congress

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress Ted Budd Member of Congress

Randy Weber Member of Congress

Ross Spano Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress

Steve Watkins Member of Congress

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress Kendra S. Horn Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Cindy Axne Member of Congress

Abigail Spanberger Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Roger Williams Member of Congress

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

John Shimkus Member of Congress

Paul Mitchell Member of Congress Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

John R. Carter Member of Congress

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

Devin Nunes Member of Congress

Daniel P. Meuser Member of Congress

Greg Walden Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

David Loebsack Member of Congress Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Greg Gianforte Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

Bill Flores Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Ron Wright Member of Congress

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Martha Roby Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress cc: The Honorable Sonny Perdue Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20250 The Honorable Russell Vought Acting Director Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503